Current Reads and ARC Books

I’ve got several books on the go right now.

I’m slowly working on Mayflower by Nathaniel Philbrick.  It’s slow because I read it in front of my computer screen with many maps open.  To really understand what is being said you have to understand the various nuances of the New England coast that are being written about.  So let’s just say that this Southern girl is learning a lot about New England geography.

With Audible I’m listening to The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.  Have you ever enjoyed a story and been thoroughly frustrated by it at the same time?  Yeah, we’ll talk more about that when I’m done and write my review.

Next up is The Dinner by Herman Koch.  This is for a book club on Goodreads.  I’m about half way through, so a review should come soon.

And last on my “currently reading” list is The Blackbird Singularity by Matt Wilven.  (Publication date: August 1, 2016.)  I just go this today through NetGalley and I’m already a quarter of the way through.  I’ve heard so much about this book and have really been wanting to read it.  I’ll just say that it is not disappointing and stay tuned for my review ~ it shouldn’t take long.

Other ARC copies I’ve received or been approved for:

I’ve been approved for Tom and Huck’s Final Adventure by J.T. Jones from the librarything‘s Early Reviewers group.  It was from the June 2016 batch, but I have not received it yet.  But their books can sometimes take 4-8 weeks to arrive, so it can’t be marked as, “didn’t receive,” until late August.  I’ve got my fingers cross for this one though as I really want to read it.  It’s Tom and Huck as adults – Tom has gone on to be a lawyer, Huck is a steamboat captain, and then the Civil War starts and they end up on opposite sides.  I can’t wait to start this one.

Other ARC books from NetGalley, in order of publication date:

The New England Orchard Cookbook by Linda Beaulieu – September 1, 2016. This will be a lot of fun to review.  Luckily a lot of fruit is in season right now, so it’s recipe testing time!

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders – September 13, 2016.

Conversations with Maurice Sendak edited by Peter C. Kunze – October 4, 2016.

The following are “Read Now” copies:

Colony of the Lost by Derik Cavignano

The Montmartre Investigation by Claude Izner

Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet by Charlie N. Holmberg

So that’s what is currently on my agenda.  Anyone else get anything fun from NetGalley or other sites?

One thought on “Current Reads and ARC Books

Leave a Reply

