Recent Purchases and Currently Reading

I went to the bookstore this weekend, telling myself I was only there to kill an hour before an appointment, when in all reality I knew I was there to buy a book.  My two hobbies of reading and needlework have both reached S.A.B.L.E. level and beyond ~ that doesn’t seem to stop me, lol.  But at least I had a plan for what I wanted to buy ~ despite the fact that I was trying to convince myself that no such plan existed and I would leave the store with all my pennies still in my possession.

Yeah, right.

I knew exactly what I wanted. — Serafina and the Black Cloak by Robert Beatty.  This is a middle age book, so a bit of a departure from what I normally read.  I had found out about this book before it was published last year and it is set at the Biltmore Estate, which just happens to be one of my favorite places on earth .  So it has been on my, “I really want that and should get around to buying it,” list, I just never got around to it.  But now, the second in the series has been published — Serafina and the Twisted Staff, so I figured if I didn’t get down to it, the series may continue and I don’t want to get any further behind.  I spoke with one of the employees at the bookstore and she said that all of the workers there have read these books and really enjoyed them.  I’ve only managed to get about 20 pages in, but I’m pleased so far and am excited to finally have this book in my collection.

I also picked up, on a whim, The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett.  From the blurb in the front cover I know that the protagonist’s wife dies, he moves to the English country side and starts collecting and restoring rare books.  Inside one such book, he finds an old Victorian portrait…of his wife.  So of course, that had to come home with me as well.

16158563

I have also started The Heavenly Table by Donald Ray Pollock.  (Received via NetGalley.)  I’m only about 4 chapters in on this one and I must say that at this early stage I’m finding one half the character population to be…disturbing.  This may not be an easy read, as I suspect the story line may get a bit raw and brutal before I am finished.  But I won’t judge a book harshly simply because something about the characters or their actions make me uncomfortable.  Sometimes that can create a very good story.  I’ll be finishing this one and reviewing it soon.

cover84141-medium

I’m hoping to spend some more time with Mayflower by Nathaniel Philbrick this week.  I’ll admit reading this book feels more like a textbook experience to me than a relaxing read, thus the amount of time I’m taking on it.  But in its own way, that is enjoyable.  I’m learning a lot about the nuances of New England geography from this book, albeit slowly, lol.

4820

So that’s what is on my reading agenda for the current week.  I’ll see how much of it I can get through by the week’s end.

Happy Reading Everyone!

Leave a Reply

