Book Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

I am a huge Potter fan. Not just a fly by night, yeah that was a good series kind of fan. But a figuring out recipes for homemade Butterbeer and cross stitching a huge and intricate picture of Hogwarts castle kind of fan. As such, I wanted to like this book. I wanted to *love* it and hang on every word of it. But it just left me feeling…let down.

To me, it read like fan fiction – which I have purposely and adamantly stayed away from all these years. I don’t want to muddy the waters of canon in my head. So I’ve avoided fan fic like the plague. But this read like the very thing I’ve worked so hard to stay away from. It is obvious it didn’t come from JK’s pen. And so many are saying – but remember (!) it’s just a play! It won’t read like a book! Well honestly, that’s kind of insulting because most of us are avid readers and won’t be put off by something as silly as writing done in the style of a play. That is not the reason this was disappointing. It was the quality of the writing itself. It was the direction the plot took. It was having nothing new about the wizarding world opened up to us. This rehashed old storylines and didn’t add to the magic (but in some cases, it did contradict what we had already been told about it.)

So I didn’t walk away feeling happy about being given more of the story. I walked away feeling like I had just read a sad substitute for it. I’m very sad to not feel that I can give this five stars. But I just can’t. Considering how big a fan I am of this world, I now feel like the best thing I can do is to simply try and forget what I read in this book. Where is the obliviate spell when you need it?

Leave a Reply

