A pitiful Sept but Oct off to a promising start with Rick Riordan author talk

September was admittedly a pitiful month for me where reading was concerned.  I finished Passenger by Alexandra Bracken (listened to the book on Audible,)  Little Nothing by  Marisa Silver and The Ghost of Christmas Past by Michael Hebler.  Other than that, I spent some time in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban just on general principle.

Stash acquisition was equally pitiful.  I decided to purchase a physical copy of Passenger, I got Wendy Darling ~ Stars because I have the second installment ~ Seas ~ to get through on Netgalley, and I won a copy of The Original Ginny Moon.  I also decided to use my Audible credit to full capacity and get a very long book ~ Gone With the Wind.

I am a Southern girl, after all.

img_3890

That’s it. That’s all that happened.  Le sigh.

I was, I’ll admit, quite busy with other things.  But I also didn’t feel well.  Some ongoing health issues reared their head a bit and I just felt off most of the month.

But I’m happy to say, that October has gotten off to a better start.  I have ordered new books, received new books as gifts or in contests (these will be shared at the end of the month) and I’m set to get my reading back on track.

And then there was last night.  I went with my son and husband to the Rick Riordan author talk in Nashville, TN.  There were people there who had driven from as far away as Canada to attend!

img_3882

The talk was for his book tour for Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard, the second in The Hammer of Thor series.

img_3879

He talked a lot about his travels to place that inspire his books, complete with lots of pictures of his journeys.

img_3885

And his dog.  He really loves his dog, lol.

img_3886

But he also talked about how his writing and his stories have been geared towards helping kids who have learning disabilities.  He took a ton of audience questions and you could tell from the questions these kids were asking ~ he was truly hitting his mark on helping these kids love to read and to deal with the issues they have.  As a mom of a son with learning disabilities, this means so much to me.  There were also grandparents who stood up and said that Mr. Riordan and his books were responsible for helping their grand kids find a love of reading.  There was a club in attendance from one of the nearby schools ~ a club specifically for kids who are dyslexic ~ and they were so happy to be there and one of them got to ask some questions.  You could see how much this meant to them.

Mr. Riordan is himself a parent of a child who has grown up with learning disabilities, so he understands the path we walk.  To see that so much of his process has revolved around thinking specifically of these children ~ it’s truly wonderful.

I’m very glad we went and it helped me get my October back on track.  Hopefully I’ll get lots of reading done this month.

Leave a Reply

