Book Review: The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, published by Penguin Random House

This novel takes you along on a winding plot and I’ll admit ~ I didn’t see the ending coming until the author started to slowly allow it.  At its core it’s a gritty story of the “who-done-it,” variety.  But not one that I was able to figure out until the end.  Right when you think you have each of the characters figured out and know which direction they are going, they take a turn that you won’t anticipate.  This made them seem very real as this is the type of thing that people are often apt to do.  I really enjoyed this book and the climax of the story at the end definitely makes it worth the time to read.

I only have one complaint over all.  For a long while I felt the story could have been told in half the amount of pages, making for a frustrating read around the 2/3 of the way mark.  In the very end though, it all came together well and I did ultimately understand what the author was doing with the laying of all that groundwork.  But it did make the middle drag on a bit for me.

So I do think it’s a good read, just go into it knowing that when it slows down in the middle  ~ there is a purpose.  I give it four out of five stars.

Leave a comment